You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SnarkyCharms Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2007 09:45 pm Title: Mooning After Dreams

Lovely story! I've really been enjoying it so far! This section right here jsut reminded me of my own childhood in elementary school. "“And I suppose that applies to Father Christmas too? If the discussion arises, I make it clear that he’s only a fantasy-person?” ...“Remus,” she warned him, “if you said an anti-social thing like that, I can guarantee that the parents around here would campaign to ensure that you were never registered as a qualified teacher!”" When I was in first grade, a teacher of mine told the entire first grade class that Santa Claus did not exist... Of course, the lot of us were very upset (I remember crying and asking my mother if it was true.) I'll never forget my classmates' faces when they were told! It was so awful! The principal had to come and calm us all down. I don't recall that teacher ever getting sacked or leaving the school though... Anyway, just had to say that... Brought back memories... Very good story though! I look forward to finishing the series!

Author's Response: Dear SC, And that's only one thing that Remus doesn't understand about the Muggle world! He knows when wizards are supposed to lie, but the rules for Muggles are different. It's funny how people are so emotional about Santa Claus. Perhaps your teacher was casting doubts on your parents' veracity? Thank you for reviewing. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2007 11:38 pm Title: A Collusion of Moon-Cursers

Well it's about time. One half of the team down. It's probably just me, but I really don't remember Ariadne learning that information about Mr. Dearborn. How silly of me.

Author's Response: Dear Nox, It was Sarah who learned from Veleta, and told Ariadne, how Caradoc died. Ariadne concealed this dangerous information from the reader because she knew it would upset Remus to hear about werewolf-abuse. But he misunderstood her duplicity as something much more serious than it really was. Anyway, they have talked now. See you in the last chapter, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 05:03 pm Title: Once in a Blue Moon

Cuddles! Odd, I would have expected Jigger to be more upset than he was. Maybe I do not understand his character as well as I think I do. I don't dislike him terribly I just think he's a bit of a bully.

Author's Response: Dear Nox, Jigger will always make a fuss whenever he cannot have his own way because he has only two interests in life: advancing science and making money. While he has no respect for the law, he does have a desire to avoid a direct clash (for reasons that will become more apparent later) so he will settle for bullying Ariadne when Remus isn't looking. She will put up with it because she needs that Journeyship and no other apothecary in Britain is willing to train her. Fortunately there IS more to life than work, so we won't be seeing too much of Ariadne in the office. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 04:51 pm Title: Forest Honeymoon

I found it! That was adorable. Does Hannah come back?

Author's Response: It would be bad literary style to highlight a character in the introduction and then never refer to her again, so Hannah will be back at the right time. Thank you for agreeing that even a honeymoon scene can be G-rated! GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/13/2007 10:52 am Title: Victory under Rose Moon

Interesting. Most people credit Severus with inventing Wolfsbane even though we don't know.

Author's Response: Dear Nox, I didn't know that. JKR says that Damocles Belby invented the Wolfsbane Potion, so you need a good reason for attributing his work to anyone else. All will be explained eventually. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 06:42 pm Title: Moonraker's Justice

Am I supposed to understand why the cards were biting?

Author's Response: Dear Nox, That depends on how carefully you can pick up the clues. You should be able to work it out by chapter 13. No, it was not Morag who laid the hex! GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 06:12 pm Title: Moonlit Wanderings

Hasn't anyone bothered to tell her parents that she's in the hospital?

Author's Response: Do you know, that never occurred to me? Remus must have told them, since word has reached the Macmillans, and I daresay Malcolm and Bethoc did visit - but that doesn't have much to do with this story. Don't worry, Ariadne will be well in the next chapter. GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 05:49 pm Title: Portkey Moonshine

Complicated magics and, oh dear. That wasn't nice. Not at all. If it weren't so early I would have felt very very unsafe.

Author's Response: Not nice? Since when have the Macnairs been nice? They have something to hide, so you can be sure that they have woven a complex web of cover-up spells. GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 05:37 pm Title: Reaching for the Moon

Soap? Oh well. It was entertaining. Dare I ask who the father of Valeta's children is? That's a disturbing thought.

Author's Response: You may ask but I may not tell. Suffice that the truth is very disturbing (especially when you consider that Veleta is based on a real person). There will be more questions before there are any answers. GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/13/2007 04:25 pm Title: Sheltering the Moon Children

Now they're just annoying me. You have to tell the other person something is bothering you or they can't know now can they? And that goes for both of them. And ignore my question about Hannah. I figured out she had returned all on my own.

Author's Response: Dear Nox, The sad thing is that Remus and Ariadne both understand the theory. They always used to tell each other everything. But that was before they had to say anything likely to distress each other. They never thought they might have to say things the other wouldn't want to hear, and that is where they - especially Ariadne - are tripping up. She can feel his sadness but she won't force his confidence and she won't tell him anything that might make him feel worse. They don't realise how swiftly they are heading for shipwreck. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2007 09:52 am Title: Moonshiner Exposed

I wondered if the toad would come along. She's so contradictory. I would expect her to want to legalize it, but only if the ministry alone knew how to make it, thereby being the sole contributer, and therefore giving her immense control over any werewolf who wanted to use it. She could have so much fun being condescending. But you're probably right, the temporary joy of being petty was far more appealing than the long term benefits of controlling people.

Author's Response: And that's the point, isn't it? The potion would belong to Belby and the Ministry WOULDN'T be able to control it, so where's the fun for Umbitch? Besides, we know from canon that she's terrified of werewolves (she was responsible for the 1993 legislation). Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2007 05:20 pm Title: Dinner by Moonlight

A) I wondered when Veleta would come up again. and B) Thank you so much for not following the absurd but popular idea that you can conjur or transfigure things for really long periods of time. Honestly if you could do that someone would just found a screw factory and everyone would buy them and create everything they needed from them. "Honey, I need a new pair of pants." "All right dear, just let me get the screw jar." Talk about economic disaster. Only so many people can make screws for a living. End Rant.

Author's Response: Dear Nox, (A) Veleta is a key character who will recur throughout the story. (B) It is JKR herself who told us that items Conjured out of nothing don't last very long - and I too have worried about the economic implications if they did. Transfiguration probably lasts longer if you know what you're doing but few wizards master Transfiguration really well. And the Lupins definitely don't want the too-fine-to-touch table setting forever! Regards, GhV

Reviewer: NoxSomnium Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2007 02:33 pm Title: Dark Side of the Moon

Very messy. So why won't the muggles let Remus try sixth form? And for my American mind what precisely is sixth form? Is that after he would be teaching an individual subject? Anyway, a very exciting chapter.

Author's Response: Dear Nox, Thank you for reviewing again. Just to confuse you, sixth form is not the same thing as Year Six. Year Six is the sixth year of compulsory education (i.e. age 10-11), which is the final year of primary school and the age Remus would ideally like to teach. However, as a newly-qualified teacher in need of the salary, he will be in no position to pick and choose; he will have to accept whichever job is offered to him, and it will be pure luck if it turns out to be Year Six. "Sixth form" is actually an expression that is going out of date because classes are no longer called "forms". It refers collectively to Year 12 and Year 13, the two final years of secondary school, which are not compulsory, since students are legally allowed to leave school after Year 11. (Never mind how we arrived at the number six for this age-group: it did make sense historically!) As you have guessed, anyone who teaches Year 12 and 13 (like me) has to have specialised knowledge of one or two subjects - there are no generalist teachers at that level. In some obscure subjects, where it is difficult to find fully-qualified staff, teachers without a degree in that discipline have been asked to teach, but they have always found it very hard work because such specialised knowledge is required. Personally, I wouldn't consider teaching outside my expertise above Year 9, because it would become so obvious that half the students knew more than I did. Anyway, don't worry if these brief notes leave the British education system as mysterious to you as ever - if you have worked out that it's different from the American one, you know more than most. Best wishes, GhV

You must login (register) to review.